The Department offers instruction and conducts research in the fields of Electric Power, Telecommunications, Information Technology, Computers, Electronics, Systems and Automatic Control. It consists of four divisions, including seventeen laboratories or groups, offering undergraduate and postgraduate studies. Furthermore the department participates in Erasmus Project for more than 30 years (since 1987) both in Mobility for studies and Mobility for internships.

The Undergraduate Program of the Department in September 2019 was granted certification from Hellenic Quality Assurance and Accreditation Agency (HQA) in Electrical Engineering and Computer Technology (USP - Electrical and Computer Engineering), as fully compliant with the principles of the HQA Quality Standard and the European Quality Assurance 2015 ) for level 7 of the National and European Qualifications Framework (download the accreditation report).