Wednesday, 13 11 2019

Προκήρυξη του Βραβείου "Χρήστου Νικολάου"

Περιγραφή: Προκήρυξη του Βραβείου "Ph.D. Award 2016" που απονέμεται στην μνήμη του Καθηγητή του Τμήματος Επιστήμης Υπολογιστών, Πανεπιστημίου Κρήτης, Χρήστου Νικολάου

Christos Nikolaou Memorial Ph.D. Award was established to honor Christos Nikolaou’s career-long contributions in university education and research. 

We would like to encourage talented graduates of Ph.D. granting institutions world-wide who recently completed their Ph.D. in the area of service-oriented computing to apply for the Christos Nikolaou Memorial Ph.D. Award 2016. 

The award is not only an honor and distinction but is associated with 2000€ for the awardee.

The application includes a 2-page essay that highlights in a clear, simple, and precise manner the originality, contributions, and impact of the Ph.D. Thesis of the applicant. The application must be signed by both, the applicant and his/her Ph.D. advisor. With the application, the advisor nominates the applicant for this award. 

The applicant must use the provided template. The application must also include the PDF file of both, the Ph.D. Thesis and the Ph.D. certificate issued by the university that indicates the completion of the studies and the satisfaction of the requirements for the doctoral degree. 

Submission will be accepted via email to Mr. Themis Kutsuras at  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. , beginning on February 15th, 2016, and ending on March 4th, 2016. 

The awardee(s) are strongly encouraged to attend the SummerSoC 2016 conference. 

  1. Requirement
     The applicant must have completed his/her Ph.D. Dissertation, and the date of the Ph.D. certificate issued by the university must be between January 1st, 2015 and the submission deadline (March 4th, 2016).

Submission Open Date
 Monday, February 15th, 2016

Submission Deadline
 Friday, March 4th, 2016

The template of the application can be found here.

Wolfgang Reisig, Humboldt University, Germany (Chair)
Theo Härder (U of Kaiserslautern, Germany)
Schahram Dustdar (TU Vienna, Austria)
Willem-Jan van Heuveln (Tilburg University, Netherlands)
Frank Leymann (U of Stuttgart, Germany)
Kostas Magoutis (U of Ioannina and FORTH, Greece)
Bernhard Mitschang (U of Stuttgart)
Maria Papadopouli (U of Crete and FORTH, Greece)
Dimitris Plexousakis, University of Crete and FORTH, Greece) 

For more information: